Welcome, Guest. Please Login
YaBB - Yet another Bulletin Board
  Please visit the Announcements forum and read the updated Forum Rules.
  HomeHelpSearchMember MapLogin ASSRA HomePage  

Pages: 1 
Send Topic Print
Duplex (Read 8475 times)
grapeshot
Full Forum Member

Duplex
Nov 18th, 2006 at 6:29pm

I'm pretty new to this websight, but I have not noticed any posts on duplexing black with smokeless; is there a reason for that?  grapeshot

IP Logged

james a pickup
Senior Forum Member

richardson,tx, USA
Re: Duplex
Reply #1 - Nov 18th, 2006 at 6:58pm

lots of person's for some reason seem to thing it's unsafe, however i've shot literaly thousands of duplex rounds in my trapdoor 45-70 and i'm still here. I usually use about 10% of the charge with 4759 or 4227, and about 1/8" compression, burns clean and shoots good, too. I live in Southern California and it really doesn't matter what lube you use out here, the air is so dry most of the time that you have to clean every shot if you use straight black powder.I'm saying a blow tube will work back east where it's 90% humanity, but out here it's 10%(and sometimes lower), forget it. I've ruined more than one rifle cleaning it every shot, i wore out the muzzle. Some rifles like the trapdoor and the martini you can't clean from the breech, so i use a duplex load. With duplex, i clean every tenth shot.

IP Logged

westerner
Frequent Elocutionist

When in doubt, say it's
a sniper scope.

Quilcene, Washington, USA
Reply #2 - Nov 18th, 2006 at 7:23pm