Welcome, Guest. Please Login
YaBB - Yet another Bulletin Board
  By continuing to use the forum you are agreeing to the updated Forum Rules. If you do not agree with the updated Forum Rules you may close your account.
  HomeHelpSearchMember MapLogin ASSRA HomePage  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Martini-Henry schematics (Read 3248 times)
A.Tellef

Martini-Henry schematics
Jan 28th, 2013 at 8:23am

I am looking to buy a full set of technical diagrams for Martini-Henry rifles. If there is anyone that can guide me in the right direction I would be very happy, I am a gunsmithing student and I am wanting to build one from scratch...

IP Logged

MartiniBelgian
Oldtimer

Re: Martini-Henry schematics
Reply #1 - Jan 28th, 2013 at 1:24pm

You mean blueprints?  There aren't any, the rifle was made without, they used jigs for the critical dimensions, no drawings anywhere.  As far as I know, nobody has yet taken the time to reverse-engineer the Martini.  I know of someone who did just that with the Westley Richards ZAR Martini (and then built one afterwards), but as far as I know, his drawings are not for sale.

IP Logged

jhm
Full Forum Member

georgia, USA
Reply #2 - Jan 28th, 2013 at 7:23pm

My advise would be to obtain a good workable action and do the work yourself. Most all the dimensions can be done with good measuring tools and some patience and time. I have replicated many obsolete parts this way.Get some good dial calipers, one to two inch micrometers, radius gauges and a height gauge along with a surface plate if you have one. Take one part at a time and dont leave anything out.

JHolland

IP Logged

Chuckster
Oldtimer

Colorado, Colorado, USA
Reply #3 - Jan 30th, 2013 at 10:00am

While you are at it, an action somewhere between the size of a Cadet and a Martini-Henry would sure be nice.
Chuck

IP Logged

Walter  Matera
Senior Forum Member

SoCal, California, USA
Reply #4 - Jan 30th, 2013 at 11:49am