Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3  Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Round Barrel vs Oct/Round? (Read 2523 times)
bucksnort
Junior Forum Member

Round Barrel vs Oct/Round?
Dec 7th, 2018 at 2:07pm
Print Post  
Is there any benefit or advantage that a straight round barrel would have or not have over a oct/round barrel? (This would be on a .32-40 CPA BR rifle)  Thanks.

IP Logged

JLouis
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: Round Barrel vs Oct/Round?
Reply #1 - Dec 7th, 2018 at 2:26pm
Print Post  
Probably personal preference for appearance I have both and they both shoot as well. Most all of my own personal accomplishments over the past seventeen years were while using a half oct. to round barrel. But I also like my round with a wee bit of taper that I have been using for the last three years. A straight barrel without taper does look a bit odd and out of place if it that might matter to you.

JLouis

IP Logged

Amoretti

Reply #2 - Dec 7th, 2018 at 2:28pm
Print Post  
I don’t know the answer but Sharps claimed it was proven round bbls were more accurate than octagon.  Maybe they were trying to save money and did not want to make them.  From Sellers book.

Personally I don’t think it would make a difference.

John

IP Logged

Jeff_Schultz
ASSRA Board Member

Reply #3 - Dec 7th, 2018 at 2:34pm
Print Post  
  A straight round blank is considerably cheaper, stiffer, and easier to index.

"We have met the enemy and he is us." Pogo

“Society grows great when old men plant trees whose shade they know they shall never sit in.”

― Anonymous Greek Proverb

IP Logged

Redsetter
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #4 - Dec 7th, 2018 at 2:44pm
Print Post  
Jeff_Schultz wrote on Dec 7th, 2018 at 2:34pm:
  A straight round blank is considerably cheaper, stiffer, and easier to index.

But for a given weight, wouldn't the octagon be stiffer?

IP Logged

frnkeore
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #5 - Dec 7th, 2018 at 2:50pm
Print Post