Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Vertical stringing.....education needed. (Read 1748 times)
JS47
Frequent Elocutionist

Member # 10889

Re: Vertical stringing.....education needed.
Reply #15 - Apr 12th, 2019 at 8:29pm
Print Post  
I'm no expert but I have figured out a few things that work for me. I'm shooting a couple of CPA's, a 52 and a 49. I don't use a sled which means that the rifles are pretty tippy on the bench so free recoil has never worked for me. The muzzle position on the bag seems to be pretty important so I have the sweet spot marked on the barrel with a felt tipped marker. It's also written in my note book. Once I have the sweet spot figured out for the load what always gives me vertical problems is inconsistent shoulder pressure. The method that works best for me is to slide the rifle forward on the bags with my shoulder until the sights are on the the point of aim when the sweet spot is on the mark. I fine tune it with a minor amount of bag squeezing while trying to maintain the same shoulder pressure. Using a bench rest stock instead of an offhand one would eliminate a lot of my problems. Wind can also give a lot of vertical stringing. I didn't realize that until I watched it happen to others as well as myself.

JS

"I'll be happy to contribute to the wolf recovery program, 180 grains at a time"  Unknown western rancher

IP Logged

RSW
Oldtimer

Reply #16 - Apr 12th, 2019 at 9:13pm
Print Post  
SBoomer
From the pic you posted of your muzzle rest, it looks like the feet sit on a metal surface. You might consider a 1/4 or 1/2 inch thick Delrin slab cut to fit your bench rest top. Perhaps even an 1/8 inch rubber sheet between the Delrin and bench rest top. A muzzle rest on a hard surface can get some unpredictable bounce from that hard surface, effecting bullet impact point. The Delirn and/or rubber sheet help deaden the surface to eliminate bounce.

Randy W
ASSRA 10211  -  ISSA 125