Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Offhand scope power help (Read 904 times)
critter68

Offhand scope power help
May 8th, 2019 at 2:03pm
Print Post  
I'm a beginner and I have 12x scopes for offhand.  Too much?   Any feedback appreciated

ASSRA #12031
NRA LIFE #194353342

IP Logged

joeb33050
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: Offhand scope power help
Reply #1 - May 8th, 2019 at 2:19pm
Print Post  
No, 12X is not too much for offfhand. I could handle 15X on a good day, but liked 10X better.
I've seen shooter using 36X offhand, John Ardito for one.
For 200 yard offhand, many shooters use 6X and up. After watching for many years, I believe that as power goes up from 6X or so, scores don't go up much. I was regularly beaten by shooters wirh Iron sights.

IP Logged

JLouis
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #2 - May 8th, 2019 at 3:01pm
Print Post  
I used 20X all of the time except for when I was using my Night Force 12X42 BR and I left it on 42X for offhand as well as for bench. And a scope with a Dot always worked out to be the best for myself.
« Last Edit: May 8th, 2019 at 3:07pm by JLouis »  

IP Logged

Schuetzendave
Frequent Elocutionist

Tune Your Rifle: Make
Her Sing

Reply #3 - May 8th, 2019 at 3:04pm
Print Post  
Colleen (Molendyke) Pipke has scored OffHand a 462/500 using a Weaver 36T scope and a 455/500 using a Redfield International Iron sight.

I use a 24X Burris to shoot offhand and I have used the 36T scope as well.

I prefer my 24X scope because it has better clarity than the 36X scopes.
However the magnification of the 36X scope I could see the crosshair moving towards the center and could better time when to pull the trigger.

Yes top offhand shooters can hold the rifle a bit steadier but they also have trained themselves to know how to time their shots for the movement of the crosshairs.