Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) First Time Inletting a Stock (Read 1318 times)
Dr.J
Junior Forum Member

First Time Inletting a Stock
Sep 15th, 2019 at 11:01pm
Print Post  
I would like to change your original stock on my Winchester Miroku 1885 low wall to one with a straight shotgun butt and pistol grip. Since this is my first attempt at inletting a stock, Iím looking for a list of the tools Iíll need and resources (books and articles) to get me comfortable with the task. 
Also, has anyone dealt with Macon Stock Company?  They sell a replacement stock for $85 that has a pistol grip and shot gun butt.  The low price has me wondering above the quality (their price is significantly lower than the next lowest stock maker). Thanks, Dr.J

IP Logged

n.r.davis

Re: First Time Inletting a Stock
Reply #1 - Sep 16th, 2019 at 9:23am
Print Post  
First tools would be a Sharp Pencil, a Piece of Paper and a piece of Scrap Walnut.  Reason being that you can work out the process on paper by making little sketches showing which cuts to make.  Scrap walnut because you are going to make mistakes and rather than spending so much time fussing about just jump right in and have at it.  The Scrap of Walnut is just to practice the inletting on so it doesn't need to be much bigger than the Wrist Area.  You can do this!!!  David

IP Logged

beltfed
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #2 - Sep 16th, 2019 at 9:53am
Print Post  
indeed, as N.R. said, start out with a practice piece of wood.
In years past, I have started out with a "tryout" piece
of 2x8 or 2x10( with another 1x8 glued on for added thickness if needed) to carve out a prototype stock and get practice for cheap in the carving.
In one case, my pine prototype was then used as a pattern
for a stock carver to make the actual stock out of walnut.
beltfed/arnie

IP Logged

marlinguy
Frequent Elocutionist

Ballards may be weaker,
but they sure are neater!

Reply #3 - Sep 16th, 2019 at 10:43am